Home » News » Liverpool FC: Summer Transfer Window Closes

Share This Post


Liverpool FC: Summer Transfer Window Closes

Liverpool FC: Summer Transfer Window Closes

The summer window has now closed and Liverpool have four new signings in Mohamed Salah, Andy Robertson, Dominic Solanke and Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain, as well as having Naby Keita joining next summer.

Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain was the only signing Liverpool managed to complete on deadline day after agreeing a deal worth £35 million plus £5 million in addons with Arsenal, The midfielder will earn £120,000-a-week over five years.

As the window reached its final deadline day the Reds had hoped to secure deals for Monaco attacking midfielder Thomas Lemar and Southampton centre-back Virgil van Dijk.

Despite Lemar being keen to move to Anfield, Liverpool were unable to agree terms with Monaco.

Southampton remained firm that they wouldn’t sell Van Dijk, who had been trying to force through a move to Liverpool all summer.

Among the departures on deadline day were Mamadou Sakho’s move to Crystal Palace for £26 million, Divock Origi to Wolfsburg on a season-long loan, Ryan Kent joined Freiburg on loan, and Allan Rodrigues went to Apollon Limassol on loan. Lucas Leiva, Andre Wisdom, and Kevin Stewart also departed for pastures new this transfer window.

The Spanish transfer window does not close until Friday evening at 23:00 GMT so Liverpool fans will need to wait and see if Barcelona will make yet another bid for Philippe Coutinho.

Leave a Reply